LGPS funds welcome DCLG appointment

June, 2017 Print


The local government pension scheme (LGPS) funds have welcomed the re-appointment of Marcus Jones as the minister for local government at the Department for Communities and Local Government (DCLG) in the new government, following the general election in June.

Jones has been the member of parliament for Nuneaton since 2010 and was first given the local government brief in May 2015. Speaking off-the-record, a senior figure in the LGPS said that Jones’s return was good news, given his understanding of LGPS issues. However, the official said it remained to be seen how much the new government will be able to do, given its lack of an overall majority, dependence on minority parties and the overwhelming challenge of negotiating with the European Union on Britain’s departure from the EU. Conservative prime minister Theresa May has re-appointed many ministers from her previous government, after being weakened following the recent election. Sajid Javid remains the secretary of state of the DCLG.

At the Department for Work and Pensions, Guy Opperman, the Conservatives MP for Hexham, is a new appointment as the minister for work and pensions, reporting to David Gauke, the new secretary of state for work and pensions. Gauke was previously chief secretary to the Treasury.


Related Posts

Comments are closed.

Follow by Email